clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Villarreal squad numbers released

We still have 22 first-team players—a bit much?

Schalke 04 v FC Villarreal - Pre-Season Friendly
Pau Torres, our new number 4!!!
Photo by TF-Images/Getty Images

Villarreal have released their squad numbers for this season. At the moment there are 22 first-team players (numbers 25 and below) while only Ramiro Guerra has one higher than that.

Albiol and Pau take numbers 3 and 4; Santi moves back to his old #8; Samu Chukwueze drops #30 and gets #11. Alberto Moreno, Anguissa and Peña take 18, 19 and 20, and Leo Suarez gets 22 and Moi Gómez 23 (I can’t remember if that was his old number with us or not).

Of course, Caceres (#5) and Leo Suarez (#22) may yet move, and it’s possible that we will get Javier Ontiveros from Malaga. It sounds as though the hotel group that the courts say owns 49% of Malaga and controls its operations is trying to make things happen, while the sheik continues to claim he has control and is doing nothing. Here’s the entire list, and note too the names are the names that will appear on the shirt.

1. S. Asenjo

2. Mario Gaspar

3. R. Albiol

4. Pau

5. S. Cáseres

6. Funes Mori

7. Gerard

8. S. Cazorla

9. Bacca

10. Iborra

11. Chukwueze

13. Andrés Fdez.

14. M. Trigueros

15. Morlanes

16. Quintillà

17. Toko Ekambi

18. A. Moreno

19. Anguissa

20. R. Peña

21. Bruno

22. Leo Suárez

23. Moi Gómez

25. Barbosa

26. Ramiro Guerra