clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Villarreal B Portuguese right-back Edgar Ié named in final squad for Rio Olympics with Portugal

Edgar Ié in action for Villarreal B
Edgar Ié in action for Villarreal B
María José Segovia

As we approach the 2016 Rio Olympic games, most teams have submitted their final list of squads for the football tournament that will kick off on August 4th.

Villarreal will be represented by Edgar Ié with Portugal, and Cristian Espinoza with Argentina respectively. Both nations are in Group D paired with Honduras and Algeria as well. Argentina and Portugal will be facing off on August 4th in the 5th match of the first day.

Portugal will be looking to replicate the success of the senior team at the Stade de France in Saint Denis after defeating France and claiming their first official international title. Portugal did not named their best players since Joao Cancelo and André Gomes stayed with Valencia despite being named in the preliminary squad. Although it is a highly competitive squad with some of the best talents from the Portuguese Primeira nonetheless. Only 4 players from the squad: Joel Pereira (Manchester United), Tiago Ilori (Liverpool), Edgar Ié (Villarreal), and (Bruno Fernandes) play in abroad leagues.

The 18 men Portugal squad for the 2016 Rio Olympics is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Bruno Varela (Vitória de Setúbal) and Joel Pereira (Manchester United).

Defenders:Edgar Ié (Villarreal CF), Ricardo Esgaio (Sporting), Tiago Ilori (Liverpool FC) and Tobias Figueiredo (CD Nacional)

Midfielders: André Martins (without a club), Bruno Fernandes (Udinese), Fábio Sturgeon (Belenenses), Francisco Ramos (FC Porto), Sérgio Oliveira (FC Porto), Tiago Silva (Belenenses) and Tomás Podstawski (FC Porto).

Strikers: Carlos Mané (Sporting), Gonçalo Paciência (FC Porto), Nuno Santos (Vitória de Setúbal) and Salvador Agra (Nacional).

As for Argentina, they arrive in Rio as one of the best teams in the tournament with a historical mark of 2 golden medals achieved in 2004 and 2008, establishing a record of 12 games consecutive winning streak, and after being absent in the 2012 London Olympic games.