clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dos Santos siblings named to the 2015 Gold Cup

Both Gio and Jona dos Santos have been included in the México squad for the 2015 Gold Cup. Jona is set to feature in his first main international tournament for El Tri.

Tom Dulat/Getty Images

The Mexican national team has named its 23 men definitive squad for the 2015 Gold Cup. México coach Miguel Herrera has selected the dos Santos brothers from Villarreal. The Gold Cup will be Jona's first international tournament with México.

El Tri will begin opening their participation in the Gold Cup on July 9 against Cuba at the Soldier Field in Chicago. Three days later they will be facing Guatemala at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, and they will be closing the group stages against Trinidad and Tobago on July 15 at the Bank of America stadium in Charlotte.

The México squad for the Gold Cup is as follows:

Goalkeepers (3): Moisés Muñoz (Club América), Guillermo Ochoa (Málaga CF), Jonathan Orozco (CF Monterrey).

Defenders (9): Héctor Moreno (RCD Espanyol), Miguel Layún (Watford), Paúl Aguilar (Club América), Francisco "Maza" Rodríguez (Cruz Azul), Yasser Corona, Miguel Herrera Equihua (Club Pachuca), Diego Reyes (Porto), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres), Jesús Dueñas (Tigres).

Midfielders (7): Andrés Guardado (PSV Eindhoven), Jonathan dos Santos (Villarreal CF), Héctor Herrera (Porto), Antonio Ríos (Toluca FC), José Juan Vázquez (Club León), Carlos Esquivel (Toluca FC), Jesús Manuel Corona (FC Twente).

Forwards (4): JJavier "Chicharito" Hernández (Real Madrid), Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad), Giovani dos Santos (CF Villarreal), Oribe Peralta (Club América).