clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FIFA U-20 World Cup, date 1

New Zealand welcomes everyone with open arms for a new edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup. A new champion will be crowned in the Kiwi nation as current champions France did not make it to the tournament.

Michael Bradley/Getty Images

Another edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup begins today in New Zealand. It is the first time the Kiwis host the U-20 World Cup, having previously hosted the U-17 World Cup in 1999 and the inaugural edition of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in 2008 before.

Title holders France are not going to be able to defend their trophy as they failed to qualify for the tournament. However, runners-up, Uruguay will be hoping to make the final again and lift the so yearned trophy this time.

Villarreal have two players representing the club for the Charrúas: leading front man and scorer Franco Acosta from the B team, and defensive midfielder Ramiro Guerra from the C team. Both young submariners will be striving to take La Celeste to the final once again.

Uruguay are in group D with Serbia, Mexico and Mali.

Unexpectedly, Qatari youngster, Sultan Al Kuwari will also be representing the Cantera Grogueta as FIFA lists him as a Villarreal player on their website.

Qatar are in group C with Colombia, Portugal and Senegal.

Hosts New Zealand will be opening the tournament against Ukraine. USA will play debutante Myanmar.

Day 1 matches include from Group A: Argentina vs. Panama, and Ghana vs. Austria.

Day 2, Group C: Qatar vs. Colombia and Portugal vs. Senegal. Senegal will be making their debut in the FIFA U-20 World Cup.

Acosta and Guerra will be also making their debut tomorrow as Uruguay takes on Serbia.