clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Segunda season concludes--playoffs beckon, relegation decided

Oh, no! Anduva won't be playing host to Segunda football next year. Mirandes were relegated, as were Real Madrid Castilla, Real Jaen, and Hercules.

The longest regular season is over (well, nearly; there are two meaningless matches tomorrow).

Champions: Eibar

Automatically promoted: Deportivo La Coruña

Playoffs: Murcia, Sporting Gijon, Las Palmas, Cordoba  (Recre miss out on goal difference)

Relegation: Mirandes, Real Madrid Castilla, Real Jaen, Hercules

Mallorca drew away to Cordoba 0-0 to stay up; Girona hammered Depor 3-1 to stay up; Alaves won at Jaen 3-2 to stay up.

Cordoba host Murcia, Las Palmas host Sporting on June 11; the return legs are on June 15.

Murcia have ex-Villarreal players Dani Toribio and Juan Truyols, of course, as well as coach Velazquez.  They also have Kike Garcia, who has scored 23 goals this year.   Las Palmas have ex-Villarreal man Barbosa in goal, and Angel Lopez plays in their defense.

Meanwhile, the playoffs for promotion to Segunda B continue.

Albacete and Racing Santander have claimed two of the four spots on offer.  Four clubs have to play off for the other two spots; the first one of those four definitely identified is Gimnastic Tarragona.  They have won 13 and drawn 3 of their last 16 matches; today they defeated Sestao River 2-1 away to make it to the playoff finals.